Beauty

The Body Shop | Lightening Shade Adjusting Drops

If you’re as pale as I am, then I’m willing to bet that at some point in your life you’ve struggled to find a foundation to match your skin. My two favourite foundations are NARS Sheer Glow and MAC Prolongwear, but both of these are too dark for my skin, even in the palest shade. (I’m a NC10 in Studio Fix, to help you MAC lover’s get a better picture of what we’re dealing with here!) As soon as I saw The Body Shop launch their Shade Adjusting Drops, I knew it would be inevitable that the Lightening Drops would be a purchase for me in the near future.

When I went in, I asked how much roughly I should use and got a very vague answer, so I’ve spent the past month experimenting and ultimately wasting a lot of foundation whilst I figure out the ratio for each foundation. Sheer Glow was pretty easy as it’s only a teensy bit too dark, so I use about a 1:2 ratio of Lightening Drops to foundation (technical, I know!) For Prolongwear, I need a little more, about a 1:1 to give me a pale enough result. I love that the Shade Drops are a lovely consistency, they don’t thin out any of my foundations once mixed in. So far I haven’t noticed a change in the finish my foundations, nor the longevity.

One gripe I do have with the Shade Adjusting Drops is that the dropper is pretty crap. I noticed this about the tester in store and thought that it might just be empty, but I struggle to pick anything up with the dropper in mine as well. For now, I either tip it out or stick a cotton bud into the bottle, which isn’t the most convenient, but it does the job!

I now feel like I have so much more flexibility when it comes to wearing foundation. I used to have to put on instant tan if I was planning to wear more coverage for evening, or wear a high-necked top and blend the foundation down onto my neck. I feel a lot more comfortable being pale now that I know I can wear any foundation that I want without the fear of having an orange face!

Have you tried any foundation lightening drops before? I’ve seen that NYX do a white foundation lightener too, so once I’ve finished this bottle I’ll have to give NYX a go and do a comparison post for you guys!

hannahessonx

6 thoughts on “The Body Shop | Lightening Shade Adjusting Drops

Leave a Reply

