Beauty

Trying Out A Silicone Sponge! 

Ever since the rise of the silicone sponge, I have to admit that I’ve been a tad curious! So when my mum surprised me with the Violet Voss silicone applicator, I was more than happy to give it a go.

The Violet Voss version has a design on one side and is clear on the other. There is a seam with a slight frill separating the two sides, which I find a little random as it kind of gets in the way during application. The first foundation I tried out the silicone applicator was MAC Face and Body. It’s water based and gives a super light coverage, which works pretty well with the applicator. I used little dabbing motions with the applicator to blend in the foundation and as I mentioned, the frilly seam got in the way around the nose and the eyes. I ended up using my fingers for those areas and overall the result wasn’t all that bad.

The next foundation I tried out the silicone applicator with was NARS Sheer Glow. As it’s a lot creamier than MAC Face and Body I thought thatx I might encounter some problems. I saw a few videos on Instagram where people used circular rubbing motions with their silicone sponge, so I decided to give it a try. All I really achieved was a nice smearing of foundation on my face, so I went back to the dabbing motions to try to blend it in. Even then, I still feel like the foundation was just kind of sitting on the skin. As you can see in the above photo, even with the dabbing motions I couldn’t quite get into the little nooks and crannies around my nose.

In all honesty, after I set my foundation with powder, the MAC Face and Body didn’t look all that bad! I think the Silicone Applicator works a lot better with thin foundations, where they don’t need to settle on the skin too much. I still sometimes use the Violet Boss silicone applicator when I wear Face and Body, but I’m definitely sticking to my sponge for thicker formulas!

Have you ever tried a silicone sponge before? What were your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below!

Save

hannahessonx

3 thoughts on “Trying Out A Silicone Sponge! 

Leave a Reply

