Lifestyle

Hello Fresh

My biggest downfall when eating healthy is dinner. I work on rotas so sometimes I don’t get home until 9pm and I really can’t be bothered thinking up a meal – half the time I end up having toast and snacking as I still feel hungry. Scott recently joined Hello Fresh and when his first box arrived, I knew I wanted to join too.

The boxes are designed to be 3 meals for 2 people, but both of us signed up separately to get 6 boxes each a week, giving us 1 cheat meal. The main box has 8 options to choose from a week, whereas the Veggie Box has preset meals. The meals all sound amazing so this didn’t bother me at all! If you decide you want to miss out a week, you can sign in up until the week before and select an option to skip the week.

The way Hello Fresh works is simple: each week you get sent a box with measured out ingredients needed to create 2 portions of your 3 recipes. Each recipe comes in a different brown bag with a coloured sticker and a bag with wool and ice packs for perishable items. There are also usually money off vouchers or brochures for affiliated companies as well as your recipe cards. Most of the packaging is recyclable too, which is great!

So far I’ve had two weeks of food, all of which so far has been great and surprisingly easy to cook! (Sidenote: I suck at cooking and even following recipes is a struggle for me.) Each meal takes roughly 40 minutes to make from scratch and it’s a lot less faff having everything already measured out for you. I also just discovered that as well as the recipe cards, you can log into the Hello Fresh app and follow the recipe with preset timers for each step, making sure you’re cooking everything for the right amount of time! Each week you can also log in and rate each of your meals, with the option to add comments as well.

Even though I’m only a week and a meal in I’m already obsessed and actually look forward to making my dinner! It’s nice to already have everything planned out, so it’s just a case of coming home and getting your cook on! Each box is only £34.99, which is amazing as I’d normally spend that on 3 days worth of food.

The last perk I want to tell you about is Refer-A-Friend. As you can probably guess, it’s a cheeky little code to get money off! If you are interested in giving Hello Fresh a go, use HANNAHESS to get £25 off your first box! Happy Cooking!

hannahessonx

One thought on “Hello Fresh

Leave a Reply

