Beauty

I bought something from an Instagram advert

Do you ever get sponsored videos popping up on your Instagram or Facebook, advertising seemingly revolutionary products? I certainly do and one that caught my eye was the Etude House Tint My Brow Gel. The video managed to make me stop scrolling and watch as the product peeled off the brow, revealing perfectly filled in brows!

I knew I had to give this a go to see if it was a just a huge gimmick or not. I hopped on over to Amazon and quickly found the gel for a mere ยฃ5. It surprisingly only took a few days to arrive and I was excited to try it out, so the evening before my next day off I got to work. I cleansed and dried my eyebrows to ensure the product went on clean skin and opened up the lid of the gel. The applicator is quite thick, making is a little hard to apply the gel evenly. The gel its self is very thick, making it easy to get a good coating on the brow. I put the gel on as neatly as possible and use a few cotton buds to clean up the shape. The gel dries quite fast and the directions suggest to leave it on for at least 2 hours, or overnight if possible. I left it on for about 4 hours and decided to peel it off before bedtime. When I peeled off the hardened gel I was a little horrified – it had tinted the skin under my brows bright orange!

Luckily for me, the staining removed pretty easily with a little bit of water and any residue came off with make up remover. Not too desirable as I’d want to at least be able to shower without the tint coming off if it had been the right colour! I had expected the look to be a lot like my brows after being tinted (in the photo below all I have on my brows is staining from my tint!) but it came out a lot more opaque and it was obvious I had something on my brows. I think this is what most people would be hoping for, but my brows are really sparse so I don’t want anything that looks too obvious.

Overall, I don’t think I’ll be using the Etude House Tint My Brows Gel again. There are different shades that might not come out so orange, but the finished look is just too obvious for what I wanted to achieve and since it came off with water, I feel like I’d end up needing to top up every day!

Has Instagram or Facebook advertising ever lead you to a purchase? I’d be interested to know the things that work and are a waste of money so let me know in the comments below!

hannahessonx

Save

Leave a Reply

